Speed Unlimited ET Series Champions


October 14, 2019

   Story courtesy of:  MDIR



MECHANICSVILLE, MARYLAND (October 14th, 2019) The 2019 Season for the Speed Unlimited ET Series has come to a close. This season brought the best sportsman racers in the DMV to Maryland International Raceway (MDIR) to take their shot at wins and even the championships. Coming into the Speed Unlimited ET Series finale after a stellar race during the Superchargers Showdown, championships were still up for grabs in all three of the ET classes. At the start of the day, many racers would still be in contention, but only three would be left standing at the end.

In Top ET, Jason Kirby would come into the day with a slim points lead over Willy Hess Sr and Will Kivett. Other racers were also in contention but were eliminated early. In second round eliminations, Willy Hess Sr would match up against Dave Dill. Hess Sr and Dill would put on a great race with Hess Sr being eliminated from Championship contention. Points leader Jason Kirby would roll into the water box along side Andy Lloyd. Lloyd and Kirby would also put on a stellar race. By .0048 at the stripe, Lloyd would take out the points leader. 4 pair later, all eyes would turn to Will Kivett. Kivett would pull into the waterbox alongside Jeffery Jones. Kivett would end up getting a broke bye to move on to third round. As Kivett would come up in third round he would be facing Daniel Maloney. Maloney would take the win and eliminate the final Championship contender. Jason Kirby would be your 2019 Speed Unlimited ET Series Top ET Champion!

The Mod ET Championship had the Burch family at the top with Chad Burch and his older brother Keith Burch. Louie Estevez, John Mattera, Bobby Mattera, and defending champion Tony Mattera were also still in contention. Second round would eliminate multiple championship contenders. With the first pair in Mod ET, Keith Burch would be eliminated by Ray Perry. Two pair later the points leader Chad Burch and Louie Estevez would pull to the starting line. Estevez knew that he would have to eliminate Burch to keep his championship hopes alive. Estevez would turn the red light on the christmas tree and Burch would end up taking the round win. With Chad Burch taking the second round win, that would mathematically eliminate Tony and Bobby Mattera. And with John Mattera being eliminated in 3rd round by Ray Perry, Chad Burch would be your 2019 Speed Unlimited ET Series Mod ET Champion!

The Hubble Motorsports Junior Dragster championship was down to a two driver race at the start of the day, 2018 Champion and points leader Jordan Denny and Tori Tayman. Tayman and Denny would both have stellar seasons and should hold their heads high with how their season went. Tayman would lose first round on a tough break-out and then be eliminated in the Re-Entry. Jordan Denny would now be a back-to-back champion. Denny would also double up and win the race.

Congratulations to the 2019 Speed Unlimited ET Series Champions! We thank all of the ET Racers that came and supported during the 2019 season. We hope to see you all back during the 2020 season!