MDIR Teams A & B Set for Team Finals

September 10, 2020

   Story courtesy of:  MDIR


Maryland International Raceway ™ (MDIR) for three of the past four years has been able to field winning teams and one runner up team at the IHRA Team Finals. Team A will consist of the first 17 points leaders in Top ET, the first 13 points leaders in Mod ET and the first 10 points leaders in Junior Dragster. Team B will consist of the next 17 racers in Top ET, the next 13 racers in Mod ET, and the next 10 racers in Junior Dragster. After Saturday’s Speed Unlimited ET Series race, the points have been compiled and tie breakers verified to see who makes the MDIR teams in 2020. Congratulations to all of our drivers who made Team A and Team B!



Team A Team B
Billy Thomas Bobby Jones
Bobby Spence Larry Boswell
Christopher Bishop Logan Hubbell
Willy Hess Sr Patrick Estevez Jr
Jeffery Jones Michael Pinder
Ben Calhoun Wayne Palmer
Donna Nelson Marc Williams
Ray Perry Anthony Whelan
Bernie Pyles Joe Martin
David Whitesell Jr Kevin Williams
Jimmy Tayman Bobby Mattera
Buddy McGowan Jennifer Nebel
Jason Kirby Larry White
Rickey Nelson Charlie Yingling
Mickey Nelson Candi Derry
Ray Snoots John Dustin
Robbie Parlett  



Team A Team B
Bobby Mattera Chad Burch
Bradley Tippet Peter Kivett
Frank Thompson Francis Reynolds Jr
George Windsor Tim Pilkerton
Bernie Pyles Tony Mattera
David Milstead Jason Kirby
Robert Copsey Stephen Cross Jr
Ray Perry Brian Mclaughlin
Darren Payne Kenny Guy
Keith Burch Allen Wathen
Louie Estevez Cory Maloney
Max Jackson Mike Gardiner
Patrick Estevez Jr John Miller Jr


Junior Dragster

Team A Team B
Seth Goddard Jaxon Cusick
Tyler Sandy Gillian Mattera
Hannah Franck Tori Tayman
Camden Long Cailyn Barnes
Kaiden Groves Ryleigh Nebel
Chris Burch Jessica Tayman
Brandon Mattera Jacob Nahory
Hunter Groat Gayge Farrell
Hailey Pumphery Shane Dailey
Alex Nelson Abby Norment
  Zach Parlett

Alternate 1 – Elizabeth Finamore (J/D)
Alternate 2 – Ellyse Gailey (J/D)

Below are a few bullet points for Team MDIR A and B:
• All tracks bringing a Team B are considered separate teams and could be paired with a teammate from Team A during eliminations.
• The team meal for Team MDIR for will for both the A and the B teams.
• Both the A and the B teams will be parking together for Team MDIR.
• Team B will run on Sunday for the Main event and be able to run in all gambler’s races on Friday and Saturday.
• B Team will earn team points as a separate team for Sunday’s Main Event
• All purses, gambler’s races, etc, will be the same for both teams
• B Team will have to pay their entry fee (Top ET & Mod ET is $80, Junior Dragster is $60) and will not receive a team jacket.
• If you are not able to make the event, please make sure to call the MDIR track office at 301-884-9833 as soon as possible for an alternate can race on the team.

Gates will open at noon on Thursday, September 24th for parking and will close at 11pm. IHRA Team Finals participants will be able to complete registration from noon to 10pm. Friday, September 25th, gates will open at 8am with two time trials starting at 10am. A Gamblers Race will be starting after the two time trials. Gates will close at 10pm. For the full event schedule, entry fees, and purses please visit or visit
When looking at the names on these teams, there is a strong chance at either team bringing the Team Finals Trophy back home. The IHRA Team Finals is a four-day event September 24th - 27th ran with surrounding IHRA tracks whose racers band together as a team and race to see who has the best sportsman racers. Good luck to all the racers and GO TEAM MDIR!




• Events will be open to participants, their family and crew only, with a maximum of 10 people total (including driver) on any race team.

• No spectators will be permitted. Crew and family must enter with the participant or leave names at the gate for a late-arriving family or crew member.

• All race trailers, both open and enclosed, must be parked in every-other 12’ pit space. That way, a trailer is taking up one 12’ space and there is an empty 12’ space for race vehicle, family and crew beside it. No trailers can be parked side-by-side. This will help ensure social distancing.

• All additional vehicles that come into the pits must park in front of the race car in your pit area or in the Pitside parking lot… NO EXCEPTIONS.

• All staff and participants will be wearing masks in any indoor structures, restrooms, tower, etc. and outdoors anywhere proper social distancing is not achievable. Masks will not be required outdoors with proper social distancing, but they are recommended.

• Hand washing/sanitizing must be done on a regular basis.

• The tower will have restricted access and will be limited to essential staff only.

• The crews will be limited on the starting line and front of the staging lanes, with social distancing extremely enforced. Our security staff and starting line staff will closely monitor this area to prevent unauthorized gathering.

• When not racing, racers are to abide by social distancing requirements. Racers and crew members will be required to stay within their own pit areas when not racing.

• Each group must have adequate PPE for each crew member and must wear masks when required. All groups will be required to acquire their own PPE and bring it with them to the track.

• Our restrooms are equipped with hands free fixtures. Restrooms will be cleaned, stocked and sanitized throughout the day or evening. All Pitside portlets will be moved and taken out of service.

• Concessions will be open, and lines will be marked for proper social distancing. Concession stand will follow all guidelines in place for local food service businesses. We will be open with a limited menu of food items that must be consumed within your pit area or in the grandstands with proper social distancing but not in front of our concession area.